Click here for home page

Click here

Contact Us | Customer Information | Privacy Policy | Audio Help

Main Menu
Submit a review
Album Reviews
Book Reviews
DVD Reviews
Sign up for newsletter
Get Your EMail Address
Submit your website
Black # 5 ‘The Station EP’ (2003)

Recent Rising Star featured band, this is their debut release. The line-up consists of vocalist Neil Muralee, Dale Jeffrey on bass, drummer David Roff and guitarist Phil Collingwood. Opener ‘Way of All Flesh’ will appeal to modern rock fans with its cutting guitar riffs and a Pearl Jam like feel to the song arrangement. ‘Sentimental Man’ again has crashing guitar chords mixed with a solid backbeat. Not an instant track but a grower with each play. Shades of fellow Brit rockers Reef in parts. ‘Skyline’ provides a gentle contrast with an acoustic intro and some nimble playing from guitarist Phil Collingwood. Closing the EP ‘Billy Pilgrim’s Progress’ is an upbeat number with a catchy hook that could do well on radio. A very competent debut from a band that with some more exposure and a bit of radio play (unlikely I know in the UK!) could break big. Definitely a band to watch out for in the coming year.




Review by Jason Ritchie

Billy Pilgrim's Progress
© 2003 Black # 5. All rights reserved.

***** Out of this world | **** Pretty damn fine |
*** OK, approach with caution unless you are a fan |
** Instant bargain bin fodder | * Ugly. Just ugly

Featured Artists
Artist Archive
Featured Labels
Label Archive
Do you want to appear here?

get ready to rock is a division of hotdigitsnewmedia group